IISc Alumni Cell
Alumni Database
Information for Alumni
Contact Us
Batchmates and Friends
Faculty Achievements
Alumni Achievements
Awards and Honours
Articles on IISc
Photo Gallery
You are visitor number
Awards and Honours

Prof. Jayant Haritsa elected to the Fellowship of Indian Academy of Sciences

Prof. K.N. Balaji, MCBL, IISc, receives National Bioscience award for career development from the Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India

The Indian National Science Academy awards INSA SN Bose Research Professorship on Prof. Raghavendra Gadagkar, CES

Prof. P N Rangarajan, Biochemistry, awarded the prestigious Tata Innovation Fellowship by Department of Biotechnology for the year 2009-2010

Prof. Vijayalakshmi Ravindranath (Professor and Chairman, Centre for Neurosciences, IISc), Prof. M R S Rao (Professor and Alumnus, IISc) and Prof. Prof. P Somasundaran (Alumnus, IISc) have been awarded Padma Shri for the year 2010

  Prof. K. L. Sebastian, Inorganic and Physical Chemistry - Silver Medal by the Chemical Research Society of India for 2010 and the Dr. MV Pylee prize by Cochin University.

  Prof. B. Ananthanarayan, Centre for High Energy Physics - Homi Bhabha Fellowship.

  Prof. Anurag Kumar, ECE - CDAC-ACCS (Advanced Computing and Communications Society) Foundation Award for 2009.

  Prof. Atul H Chokshi, Materials Engg. Dept. - First Placid Rodriguez Memorial Lecture at Kalpakkam.

  Prof. K. Chattopadhyay, Materials Engg. Dept. - National Metallurgist's Award of IIM and N.P. Gandhi Memorial Lecture of NMD.

  Dr. S. Dasappa, Centre for Sustainable Technologies - Best poster award by the 17th European Biomass Conference and Exhibition, 29 June to 3 July , 2009 at Hamburg, Germany

  Prof. Diptiman Sen, Centre for High Energy Physics - Divisional Associate Editor, Physical Review Letters; elected fellow of INSA and NAS Allahabad.

  Prof. Y. Narahari, CSA - Fellowship of INSA, GM, R&D Faculty Award.

  Prof. Raghavendra Gadagkar, Centre for Ecological Sciences - 1. Chief Editor, Indian Journal of History of Science, 2009, 2. Editorial Collaborator, Science and Culture, 2009, 3. Member, Editorial Advisory Board, Biosystematica, 2009.

  Prof. U. Ramamurty, Materials Engg. Dept. - Fellowship of INAE.

  Prof. Rohini M. Godbole, Centre for High Energy Physics - Fellow, TWAS.

  Prof. A.G. Samuelson, Inorganic & Physical Chemistry - TATACHEM Chair.

  Prof. S. Subramanian and Prof. Vikram Jayaram, Materials Engg. Dept. - Fellowship of IIM.

  Dr. Sunil Chandran, CSA - Selected as an Associate of the Indian Academy of Sciences. The associate-ship will continue until 31 December, 2012. MSR India Outstanding Young Faculty Award from Microsoft Research Lab India, September 2009.

  Prof. M.K. Surappa and Prof. Vikram Jayaram, Materials Engg. Dept. - Fellowship of INSA.

  Dr. P. Thilagar, Inorganic & Physical Chemistry - Young Associate of the Indian Academy of Sciences (September 2009).

  Prof. Thomas Kailath, ECE - 1. Padma Bhushan award in April 2009, 2. Elected in July 2009 as a Foreign Member of the Royal Society, 3. Honorary Doctorate from the Viswesaraya Technological University in July 2009, 4. Blaise Pascal Medal from the European Academy of Sciences in November 2009.

  Smt. Anindita Bhadra, IISER Fellow, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Nadia, West Bengal - The INSA Young Scientist Award in Biology for the year 2009.

  Ms. Asha K Ph.D. student. Centre for Sustainable Technologies - Mondialogo Engineering Bronze Medal Award for the project on "Re-use of waste materials for sustainable future" .

  Sri Jayan N., Scientist-SF, Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre, ISRO, Trivandrum - The 'Astronautical Society of India-Space Gold Medal' for meritorious service in the area of space research.

  Mr. S.A. Kannan, ME, 2009 batch - Received the ISA Technoinventor 2009 Award from India Semiconductor Association for the best Master's Thesis titled "Low Power Design Techniques for the Front End of a Radio Frequency Communication Receiver".

  Dr. Madhav Madhira - "Bharat Ratna Sir Mokshagundam Visvesvaraya Award" by the Govt. of Andhra Pradesh and the Institution of Engineers (India), A P State centre for his outstanding contribution in the field of Engineering.

  Dr. M. Manjunatha Nayak, Deputy Director, Dept. of Space, Chandigarh - The "Merit Award" by ISRO in recognition of outstanding contributions to the programmatic activities of ISRO/DOS in various capacities.

  Dr. G. Parthasarathy - Decennial Award of Indian Geophysical Union for the year 2009.

  Dr. K.S. Rajanandam, ChE, MSRIT - Elected to the Council of Indian Institute of Chemical Engineers, for three years 2010-2012.

  Prof. N. M. Reddy., Emeritus Professor - Distinguished Alumnus Award of the Department of Aerospace Engineering.

  Dr. V. Sabareesh - Prof. B H Iyer Medal for the best Ph.D thesis on "Mass spectrometric sequencing of acyclic and cyclic peptides".

  Sri C.R. Subramanian- Written books "BEL 25 Years and After" and "Chronicle of a Navaratna".

  Dr. Surendra Pal, Distinguished Scientist, ISRO Satellite Centre, Bangalore - The 2010 IEEE Judith A. Resnik Award "for the development of various spaceborne communication systems, planning, operationalization and advancement of Global Navigation Satellite Services (GNSS) in India."

Prof. C. N. R. Rao, former Director, IISc, awarded the August-Wilhelm-von-Hofmann medal

Mr. Tajinder Singh has been appointed as the Deputy Secretary General of the International Organization of Securities Commissions (IOSCO) General Secretariat

Prof. M. Giridhar (ChE), Prof. Jayant Haritsa (SERC), Prof. N. Jayaraman (OC) and Prof. S.K. Satheesh (CAOS) have been awarded the Bhatnagar Award

Dr Vijay Kumar Saraswat to take over as DG of DRDO and Scientific Adviser to Defence Minister
Business Line,     Times Of India,    The Hindu,    DNA,    Machinist

Royal Society Medal for Prof. C. N. R. Rao, Former Director,IISc

© 2007-2008 IISc Alumni Cell. All Rights Reserved. Credits: Mani, Mahesh, Megha, Raghav, Sujit, Suri.